League Latest
January 20, 2018

White earns shock ODI recall

Victorian veteran Cameron White has edged out rising stars D’Arcy Short and Ashton Turner for injured Queenslander Chris Lynn’s place in the Australian one day team for the upcoming ODI series against England.

While he plays predominantly as an opener domestically, White is expected to fill  the vacant No.4 position in the batting order.

The selection marks a shock recall for the 34-year-old who hasn’t played  international one day cricket for almost three years.

White has been one of the better performed players in domestic one-day cricket in recent years and been in great form for the Melbourne Renegades in the BBL this season, convincing selectors to give him another shot at the top level.

“He’s in very good form as his figures demonstrate, he’s playing very well,” national selector Trevor Hohns said.

“He’s one of the leading run-scorers in the KFC BBL, he’s experienced, he’s a very smart cricketer and he’s a good fielder.

“He ticks all the boxes for what we need at this stage.”

Earlier in the week, White had all but conceded his international days were over, most pundits pushing for a recall for axed allrounder Glenn Maxwell or the introduction of Short, Turner or NSW longshot Daniel Hughes, a favourite of skipper Steve Smith.

Speaking on Tuesday, the Victorian literally laughed off the suggestion he could be the man to replace Lynn in the ODI squad.

“There’s a vacancy I guess, yeah,” he said with a chuckle. “No I haven’t heard anything.”

When asked if the upcoming T20 tri-series was a more realistic goal for him,

White said: “I honestly don’t know. You’d have to ask the selectors, I couldn’t tell you.”

White scored almost 200 at an average of 50 in the JLT One-Day Cup in October having been the tournament’s leading run-scorer last summer with 457 runs, including two centuries and two fifties. He is the second-highest run-scorer in this summer’s BBL behind Short.


Gillette ODI Series v England

Australia ODI squad: Steve Smith (c), David Warner (vc), Pat Cummins, Aaron Finch, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Mitchell Marsh, Tim Paine, Jhye Richardson, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, Andrew Tye, Adam Zampa.

England ODI squad: Eoin Morgan (c), Moeen Ali, Jonny Bairstow, Jake Ball, Sam Billings, Jos Buttler, Tom Curran, Alex Hales, Dawid Malan, Liam Plunkett, Adil Rashid, Joe Root, Jason Roy, David Willey, Chris Woakes, Mark Wood.

Read on: http://ift.tt/2APPP7z

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.